Fountain finding

It was Shine-A-Light who posted a link to the British Listed Buildings site in the forums. As he pointed out, there are loads of listed buildings they don't have photographs for, and they welcome submissions from the public.

Looking at the entries for Dunbar, I came across a mention of a drinking fountain in Bayswell Park. Couldn't remember ever noticing anything there, so I set out to find it.

Nothing. But then, heading home, I happened to look more closely at this, which I must have walked past hundreds of times.

To my untrained eye it looked: "Later 19th century. Ornamental cast-iron drinking fountain. Small decorative pedestal, supporting elaborated tapering column, piercing a low, leaf-edged basin. Octagonal ring of alternating spouts and floral motifs above, culminating in 3-scrolled stems."

Turns out they moved it in 2007 ... to the road where I live.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.