Notsonormallife

By notsonormallife

Guilt trip!

Today I suspended the member of staff whom I spoke about yesterday.. It was hard as he believed he did no wrong.. Though so many people can see what he did.

Anyway, after the deed was done I was pretty down in the dumps.. As I was feeling guilt towards this guy, guilt over suspending him & the very likelihood of him not being able to find another job in the current climate. This had me in the dumps until I spoke with an experienced manager from another area. I explained how I was feeling, he said that he used to be like it too, but feeling guilty is optional, feeling sad isn't. There is a big difference, he said I shouldn't feel guilty as I did nothing wrong, I didn't put him in the position where he made the error.. He made that decision not me.. All I have done is what I am supposed to do. All I have done is what everyone else would do in my position. Yeah it's sad this guy may be out of a job, but your doing what you have to & you have to respect yourself for still doing that while feeling so guilty.

He spoke a lot of sense, guilt is only an option. The sadness isn't though, but it's a lot easier being just sad than being sad & having the feeling of guilt there. Hopefully I can take this lesson & use it in the future, it won't make doing this easily, but it will make it a little less hard.

Sorry to talk about work, but it's been stressful & taking up all of my mind space. Which means everything else has had the last 36 hours near enough away from my brain. Which I'm hoping is a good thing..

I have no idea what picture I will use for this post as I'm writing it pre pic..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.