luces y sombras

By sarah77

Waiting

Last day of the summer holidays for me. I'm back to work tomorrow (on the bright side it's a non-student day), and Oscar is back at his school on Monday. I suspect that the quality of my blips will take a turn for the worse until half-term.

I took Oscar and his friend M to The Marsh at Charleton. The Marsh is actually some reclaimed land that was once a creek of Salcombe Estuary. Now a haven for birds and a pasture for cattle, the boggy centre of this massive field boasts some stunning reedbeds and, lucky for us, plenty of wild food in the hedgerows. Today we collected blackberries, elderberries, sloes and haw berries.

This evening I set to making some blackberry and elderberry chutney. Possible Christmas pressie. Maybe. If it lasts that long. Apparently it goes very well with goats cheese, my favourite! Here they are waiting to cool, next to a photo of my mum, who always liked to experiment with jams and chutneys for the WI when we were little, before a career in teaching took over.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.