She left me on Friday...

By DiscoDown

Lunchtime walk

A busy, busy day again today. I had a wee bit of time between meetings so I stepped outside to take a personal call and the outside air (I can hardly call it fresh air in the centre of Edinburgh) gave me a wee lift. So, I just stayed outside and took a walk to Starbucks in Stockbridge.

"A four shot espresso my good man, and I'll pay using my Starbucks card."

"What's that you say? £1.45? Three free shots just for using my card? I say, old chap. That's a bloody bargain!"

And a bargain it was. Cup in hand, and mood suitably lifted, I wandered back to the office and passed the lovely arch that marks the entrance to the old Stockbridge Market. I've always liked this arch, if for no other reason than it's reference to "butcher meat". My mum always referred to the supplies from our local butcher as "the butcher meat" and I thought that was just a quirk of hers until I first saw this arch. What other kind of meat would you buy, after all? Baker meat? Fish monger meat?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.