tempus fugit

By ceridwen

A gander at some geese

Where the river Gwaun flows into the harbour a small flock of geese lives at the cottage beside the bridge. Today they were primping and preening on the edge of the water. My camera battery was almost flat so I only managed one shot. I like the way they are standing on their own reflections.

I am pretty sure these geese are pets and not destined for the dinner table so I hope no one will be upset if I quote this wonderfully humorous send-up of the romantic sonnet by Robert Southey, himself one of the romantic poets of the early 19th century.

To a Goose

If thou didst feed on western plains of yore
Or waddle wide with flat and flabby feet
Over some Cambrian mountain's plashy moor,
Or find in farmer's yard a safe retreat
From gipsy thieves and foxes sly and fleet;
If thy grey quills by lawyer guided, trace
Deeds big with ruin to some wretched race,
Or love-sick poet's sonnet, sad and sweet,
Wailing the rigour of some lady fair;
Or if, the drudge of housemaid's daily toil,
Cobwebs and dust thy pinion white besoil,
Departed goose! I neither know nor care.
But this I know, that thou wert very fine,
Seasoned with sage and onions and port wine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.