People on a Bridge

By zerohour

Human resources

I had to speak with the university human resources person today, which brought me into the proximity of the sculpture above. I always thought if was poorly placed, not given enough room to breathe, dwarfed by the massive building next to which it stands.

Today I noticed a detail, which made me think differently of it. On its back side, there is a sizable plaque stating it was commissioned in memory of a young man (his name and birth/death dates were listed, though I don't recall them).

While I still think this sculpture would benefit from a different setting, I see one advantage of its current placement. A lot of people visit the human resources department (and others located in the same building). A lot of students walk past this sculpture every day. Whoever the gentleman was, his name gets read many times a day. It works as a memorial precisely because of its poor placement...

Another thought: will I ever be satisfied with ANY sculpture placement??? For explanation see here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.