days in december

By daysindecember

slate quarry, wales

After hiking up scafel pike last may ive been wanting to
cross snowdon off the list ever since.
So today was the day.
After trying to get to get here since yesterday.
two broken down cars later we finally made it.
The weather was perfectly shit and surpassed perfection
as we reached the peak.
I could see about seven meters in front of me, my hands where frozen,
my head was sore from the strong wind and hail. All i could think about
was getting back to my car and getting home. One thing i hate more than
anything when hiking is not being able to see your destination.
after reaching the peak i had had enough. I touched the pinnacle thingy
and decided to run back down. We ran past people we had saw on the
way up as they were coming down. It was a great feeling actually.
As we got closer to the bottom the rain stopped and i started to smile
(almost laugh to myself) I said hi to some random guy just near the bottom
i said alright mate, he was australian, he replied 'yeah mate, its going pretty good' i smiled all the way to the car. i got to my car and it wouldnt start!
my mobile phone was soaking wet and wouldnt work. My friends G9 i had
borrowed was dripping. I called the AA, eventually got home.
thirty cups of tea later im now in bed writing this entry as a day
i probably wont forget. rain, rain, rain.
oh yeah, i took this shot driving home of a slate quarry just near snowdon.
Also, total time up and down, two hours, fourty five :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.