just allan

By allan

Publish And Be Damned

My MSc Dissertation, being bound. In the background Anderson Tower, where it was delivered to Professor Forbes Gibb. The lady here joined the Print Unit for 6 months - 20 years ago. These folks are at the end of so much effort by so many people, but when I said so they seemed surprised. "Oh, I suppose we are! Never looked at it that way really!" Perhaps they'd better cut down a bit then.

So, that's good.

Oh, and the floors have all changed in the Anderson. Everything that was n is now n+1.
2 is 3.
13 is 14.
Ground is 1.
Which is why - they bought some room booking software that had no concept of non-numeric floor numbers. So... they changed all the floor numbers, all the door numbers, all the lift buttons, all the letterheads, all ... well everything except the bloody software! Isn't software supposed to be easy to change!? Isn't that what "soft" means? Same thing in my office, post-it notes on meeting rooms because changing the computer system is too hard. Good God.

Oh, and in the Colville Building where the Print Unit has moved to, the great big list of everything in the Foyer doesn't list the Print Unit. (The first rule of Print Unit is....) so I phoned them. "4th floor son. There's signs from there. I put them up." Good God.

I hate Glasgow, "by the way". "But". What relief to leave the post-industrial hellhole and return to the relative normality of debating indexing versus cataloguing with Strategy and Architecture. Ivory towers? Yes please.

Then to the dentist for a gold crown - made in a lab to my precise measurements and basically glued on. Can't complain, back in January I would have given my right arm to sort that tooth out.

So, now I have nothing to do. Hmm. What do the OU have on offer.... ?

There. I must be Damned after all that publication and blasphemy. Certainly, I'm published.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.