happiest

Love, O love,
Oh what a fine and splendid thing;
No wonder so many people do about it write poems and sing
about the joy and happiness it is certain to bring,
Especially now that you wear a ring
on your fing
er...

Love, O love,
Radiating out about the hands you each now hold,
Keeping those hands warm when they are outside in the cold,
Even when each pair of hands grow wrinkly and old
Now that you wear a ring
on your fing
er...
Made in this case either of titanium or gold.

Love, O love,
What finer state can one in be?
A lover's smile the first thing every morning which you see
On the pillow right there next to thee,
Forever and eternally,
Now that you wear a ring
on your fing
er,
Binding him to her and she to he.

Love, O love,
A constant through life's constant twists and turns,
A comfort through discomfits and concerns,
A salve to soothe the soul from strife and scares and skelfs and scalds and burns,
Now that you wear a ring
on your fing
er,
An annulus whence calm always returns.

Love, O love,
A banquet to sustain you all your lives,
Eaten not with forks and knives
but with the ears and hands and hearts and eyes;
Now that you wear a ring
on your fing
er,
and share the happy state it signifies.


*****

A marvellous day. When she walked towards me I forgot completely about the oppressive heat imposed by my clothing. In the end I couldn't even get the words I meant to finish off my speech with: no matter how often each day I say that I love you I mean it every time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.