JAMORGAN

By JAMORGAN

Discovering Dudley/Part 1/Flag Pole Lions?

Working close to Dudley town centre, I have recently noticed some really unique things, things I did not spot previous to buying my camera. In a continuing series I am going to blip these every so often.

Where Priory Street meets Saint James Road, just as you pass the Council's Benefit Shop sign, you will see these lions attached to the external brickwork. At first I thought they were door knockers but there are loads of them, plus they are no doors. Looking a bit closer at them maybe there were once part of a flag pole? I don't know nor can find out any information online.

Why lions? I doubt it has anything to do with Dudley Zoo. Looking at the Coat of arms of Dudley lions are included, taken from Halesowen's Coat of arms, so maybe this is why lions feature on the council buildings of Dudley?

Who really knows! All in all, after opening my eyes, Dudley has become a little bit more interesting, than I had first thought.

Thanks to this image I also had an attempt at using the magic eraser on Photoshop, for my first attempt I don't think I did too bad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.