Tovos

By tovos

Deep in thought!

Visited the city of Coventry for the day and went for a good walk around, I then went to St Johns the Baptist church and the Holy Trinity church then went around the corner to Coventry's cathedral ruins... Known as St Michael's.

While sitting there and watching the life around me. I saw someone on the bench (in this photo) and wondered what they was thinking of and if her deep thought was like mine. (What the future holds). After this I wandered over and sat by there side and we had a funny old chat. Walked away after 10 minutes (?) and what they said made me have tears in my eyes.

The following is a little about it the cathedral ruins.

The majority of the great ruined churches and cathedrals within England are the outcome of the violence of the dissolution in the 15 century. The ruins of St Michael's are the consequence of violence in our own time.
On the night of 14 November 1940, the city of Coventry was devastated by bombs dropped by the Luftwaffe. The Cathedral burned with the city, having been hit by several incendiary devices. And later on in years a new modern one was built next to it.

I may go next week and take a photo of this, weather permitted.




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.