Life is like a river

By Gunnlaug

My turn

... to cook dinner tonight because my husband was at a get-together with his colleagues. He's the cook in our household, since he's better at it than I am and also I usually find it a bit boring. On the other hand, I'm an excellent baker and I really like baking breads, cakes, muffins, cupcakes, pancakes - just all baked goods that look palatable ;o) I like trying different recipes and I use Google a lot to find something new.

This is a (rather bad) photo of the soup I made. It's from a Swedish recipe-page and contains sweet potato, onion, garlic, coconut milk, tomatoes, water, red chili and spices. Everything cooked in a big saucepan and then mixed together with an immersion hand blender. Add a bit of sour cream, fresh basil and some crushed Doritos - it's so good! I also baked foccacia-bread with whole wheat flour and a tasty herb oil topping. I was really happy with the result, especially when Dagur, my older son who usually doesn't like soup very much, filled his bowl again and said it wasn't bad :o)

Had a quiet evening, watched the film "Hævnen" (In A Better World) directed by Susanne Bier. Very, very good film with some serious ethical topics for pondering afterwards.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.