tempus fugit

By ceridwen

Time marches on

The first Friday of the month is when my reading group meets, in one or other of the member's houses. It's been going for 9 years now with occasional drop-outs and new arrivals but the core of the group has remained constant. We all live fairly locally but we (or at least I) don't socialize except at the monthly gathering to discuss the book we have been reading (or aiming to read) so I don't know any of the members very well. I quite like restricting the contact to the literary task.

At the end of today's discussion the host (on the left) announced that it was someone's special birthday tomorrow. She went into the kitchen and came back with a plate of cupcakes, one of which bore a candle which she-who-is-at-the-far -end-of-the-table was required to blow out. I couldn't believe it when I learnt her age - I shouldn't reveal it so suffice to say I was 10 years out. It was just the same when I saw the birthday cards that arrived last year for she-who-is-on-the-right in red. 80? Couldn't believe it! Why does everyone keep getting older? Me, I just stay 35 and not a day more.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.