Between Brushstrokes

By felicitypapp

Decay

Kicked myself out of the house for coffee and some Vitamin D before noon. Sunny days have become such a rarity that I feel as if I'm committing a crime if I let them go to waste.
Sat at a table under a tree and turned off my brain so effectively that it took me half an hour before I noticed what looked like snow on the lawn.

It turned out to be a dead pigeon being devoured by insects. Some of it's feathers were scattered across the lawn by the wind, forming a pattern of bright and fluffy specks against the green that tricked my brain into thinking it was snow.
So pretty from the distance, so gruesome and sad up close.

I figure the circle of life and death prefers to be captured in analog, so I unfolded my Polaroid.

shot on expired Polaroid Toned Instant Film (ISO 80) with a Polaroid Model 350


go to June 28th for another dead pigeon

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.