Elroyofderovers

By Elroyofderovers

Not life or death

So today I have been doing my IELTS English test as another step to convincing the Canadian immigration that I am the sort of person that will prosper and pay my way in their country. Listening, Reading and Writing complete. Speaking to do this afternoon. I will admit that I am pretty nervous today, not because it is difficult or because Scotland are playing in a must win game today. Nervous because of what is at stake if I don't pass the test. Our dreams will be shattered. Not only mine but the wife and kids as well.

So I went out for a walk and to get some lunch in-between. I stopped off at the memorial for The Royal Scots that is in Princess Street Gardens. Never been at this part before (I know, I am ashamed). Been sat here eating my food, watching the World go by and contemplating my future. Then I got thinking about the scene in front of me. I can hear the lone piper playing for the tourists on Princess Street as well, all adding to the mood. So i know it's not the best picture (restricted what I was allowed in the room, so left the camera at home), but what you can see is a nice park area, some large stone monuments and a path way round the grass. What I thought was amusing was the blue sign on the grass. Says "please stay of THE GRASS". I thought this was funny at first. Here we are remembering the brave guys that have died to ensure our land remained free from the Nazi's and the like. Then the Nazi local authority tell us we can't use this patch of land! Then I thought why would they do that, the rest of Princess Street Gardens allow the kids to play on the grass. And I don't know the answer, but I hope that the intention is that we have set aside a bit of land, just for them. After all they have earned it.

My nervous have pretty much gone now. After all, if we don't get to follow our dream or Scotland don't win today, will it really be the end of the World? Will it really mean life or death? I don't think so.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.