From Dawn to...

By DawnCHS

A Life in Pictures

Today was my friend Mike Mitchinson's funeral.

He wanted us to celebrate his life, rather than cry over his passing and so instructed us all to wear bright colours at his funeral. He planned it all himself, with a wicker coffin topped with his running shoes, cycling shoes and his cycling helmet. His brother performed the eulogy with anecdotes to make us smile.

I could not help crying - I will miss him; but I get the memories of a good and kind friend to make me smile too.

The service finished with In The Mood to reflect Mike's love of dancing and rock and roll music.

This montage was made by his daughter and shows Mike from when he was a baby through to near the end and many stories were told while looking at the pictures by all of us, with memories being invoked by pictures long since forgotten.

How powerful the photograph is.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.