Wiggles

22months 14days

What an exciting morning!! A few weeks ago, I had got a notification on FB from the Wiggles (yes really) that they were releasing a new to-cinema film, the Wiggles Big Birthday, in the UK. But none of the venues were anywhere near us. I was very disappointed - they're Katie's absolute favourite. Then yesterday, also thanks to facebook, I discovered that they were in fact at our nearest cinema this weekend only, although the Wiggles link still said they weren't. I was so excited for Katie!

So this morning she had her first trip to the cinema. She looked a little bemused but smiled and clapped when I told her we were going in the car to see the Wiggles. I took her inside, and she was a little uncertain about the cinema, but when I showed her the screen where the Wiggles were going to be, she was more excited than I thought she would be. When I let her do her first bag of pick and mix, she was extra excited.

When we sat down, we discovered that just short of 23lb is not enough to hold a flippy-uppy cinema seat down, so she sat on my knee. She wasnt sure about the (very loud) adverts and trailers - some Christmas film trailer scared her. But when the Wiggles came on, that was it, she was utterly transfixed. For the whole thing. Parts of it were recordings from the Circus show they did, and it was incredible. And parts of it were rather hilarious; I cried with laughter at one point, when Captain Feathersword did an extremely camp Swedish Jill, from Jack and Jill and not one of them could keep a straight face. She was fascinated and so excited when her favourite songs were on. The first half, she just watched, wide-eyed but smiling. The second part, she was bouncing. Clapping, doing the actions and rather gutted when it all finished. She watched the credits right to the very end.

After the cinema we had a potter round. We went into Asda and she spent 15minutes playing in a Little Tykes cosy cottage. Considerately, next to the house, they had placed a sofa that they were selling. I was hovering whilst she played and one of the staff suggested I sit. Well, it would have been rude not to. We had a walk, got a mid afternoon snack and have popped home for a little bit, before we go up to the Cousins. They're going to do one of the batches of Hermann, our friendship cake.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.