Darrell K Morris

By darrellkmorris

At No 6

2.45 p.m. Blist Hill Victorian Town, Iron Bridge, Shropshire.

I took a trip to the heart of birthplace of the Industrial Revolution, thankfully it now has a shop where you can purchase postcards and a cafe that does a decent cup of tea and an eccles cake.

I remember visiting here many years ago as a small child, but all I can recall was the toll keepers cottage and a few people wandering around in smocks, which I didn't feel was particularly Victorian even for Shropshire. Clearly, the modern experience of working Victorian towns have become more historically accurate. So much so that you get a toll keeper in the cottage.

Personally, I thought that this photograph had the feel of early Walker Evans about it, which means I am probably suffering from illusions of grandeur again. Long may it continue...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.