The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Atlantic Coast Express

This morning I drove over to Westbury station to see the Atlantic Coast Express, following a tip off from Clean Steve.

In theory, the engine from Waterloo changed there and was to be replaced by a double-header, before the train went on to Taunton and beyond, allowing me half-an-hour to inspect and photograph three magnificent steam engines, Light Pacific Class no. 34067 Tangmere, no. 70000 Britannia and King Arthur Class no. 30777 Sir Lamiel.

Unfortunately, that most dolorous knight Sir Lamiel had grievously broken down and the revised timetable had Tangmere and Britannia steaming non-stop through Westbury half-an-hour earlier than scheduled. I was not caught out by this, and was there in good time to get some pictures of the double-header as it roared past. The one I have chosen doesn't show Britannia (it is slightly clearer in the alternative below) but is more atmospheric, I think. I hung around afterwards for more shots of the station and passengers.

On my way back I stopped off at the canal near Hilperton, hoping for a heron shot. I spoke to people on the towpath who had seen four or five the previous day, including an old heron that stuck its ground and didn't fly off when they were close to it, but there were none around today. I went on to Whaddon and parked by Whaddon church, looking the worse for wear as it had just been vandalized by thieves stealing lead, destroying a number of 800-year old tiles in the process. There were some cattle in the field opposite including a bull and some calves. I have not exaggerated the colours in the picture below!

I have backblipped my latest claim to fame here.

Alternatives:
Atlantic Coast Express
Kennet and Avon Near Hilperton
Bikes on a Narrowboat
Cattle

Lenses: Pentax 12-24mm, Sigma 70-300mm

Blip #515
Consecutive Blip #003
Day #528

1 year ago: Bencroft Hill, Stanley

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.