stuff & nonsense

By sleepyhead

Edinburgh. Fireworks. What a shocker!

Headed up the Crags tonight to shoot my first fireworks. What a learning curve!

I've already seen a fair few excellent shots from tonight's Festival fireworks display and I'm sure there will be more to come. Lots of fun. Once I have a chance to go through the 300+ shots I took hopefully I'll find half a dozen to add to my folio. I'll link to it on a later blip.

Some things I learned tonight (probably could have set up differently but it worked for me, eventually - if anyone has any tips, please, please, please)...

1. Portrait over landscape.
2. Higher ISO for speed. I set 400 but think could have gone higher.
3. Big memory card. I shoot RAW+JPG so the 16GB card came in handy.
3. Underexpose.
4. Shoot manual mode.
5. Underexpose.
6. Listen to the concert. Not only was it great, but allowed for better anticipation.
7. Did I mention. Underexpose. Really. Most of my shots eventually taken with -3 stop exposure (or greater). Otherwise the fireworks end up as a big blob of light.

Update: Added a few more shots to the blipfolio.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.