People on a Bridge

By zerohour

She would have been 89 today

My grandmother (babcia) Danusia died on September 5 last year, one day after her 88th birthday. This is tribute to her, part 1.

Babcia was into things. I was getting mad at her sometimes, because she held some undeserving people in high esteem only because they had things, and disregarded others because they did not have certain things.

She showed love with things. She gave me a lot of beautiful objects, well-made and unlike the cheap crap widely available today. When she died, I inherited a number of things from her. I was a bit lost and angry: more things? Don't you get it? My favorite memories of our time together were about cooking, eating, and discussing recipes. Walks in the mountains. Playing cards. Talking about books. What am I to do with more things???

I know now. Today, in babcia's honor, I pulled out some of the things. I polished the silver soul ladle, cake server, butter knife and ice tongs, the bracelet she always wore which was a gift from her mother on occasion of her 21st birthday. Her amber necklace, her corral necklace (yes, real corral), one of the many cappuccino cups she had, and the silver monogrammed cigarette holder. I piled them all on a letter tray (I kid you not! I actually got one of these from her...), and topped it all of with my favorite picture of my babcia Danusia.

In doing all this, I performed an impromptu ritual that makes sense. It goes with her. And though I don't feel particularly great remembering so clearly she is gone, I know I did the right thing by all this polishing, composing, and photographing.

Stay tuned; more on babcia Danusia tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.