Dolly's Day

By dollydoug

Memories of Douglas... number 3

TEA DRINKER

My late husband Douglas loved his tea. He drank it black with no sugar. He preferred leaf tea to bags. He liked it to be made in a teapot.

I never ever made him a cup of tea - he always made his own. As I don't drink tea myself this was probably for the best.

He collected mugs - anything unusual and quirky in a charity shop or at a car boot fair he couldn't resist.

One " tea " story he used to tell was of the time he had to visit an old lady on company business. The old lady's house - and the old lady herself - were none too clean. He was offered a cup of tea and politely ( reluctantly ) accepted. When the tea arrived he could see that the cup was dirty - obviously hadn't been washed up. Thinking on his feet he turned the cup around and held it with his left hand. When the old lady saw this she said " Oooh Mr......... You are left handed... just like me "

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.