Off Centre

By RachelCarter

A Little Concentration

Ever wondered what you're paying for - other than a fancy silver band?

Me too.
Completely by accident, I bought premium tomatoes when I usually like to support unpretentious fruit and veg.

I emptied both cartons into a large mild chilli that I am cooking (for the 6-year-old to insult later) and spotted the different packaging.

Well, would you believe it, they both contain 65% tomatoes, tomato juice, acidity regulator and citric acid?

The only slight difference is the tomato juice in the premium carton is "concentrated" and therefore thicker and more 'tomato-ey' (something I can achieve myself by leaving the pan simmering and concentrating the juices)

So. There it is.
If you want to be premium: concentrate.

Wish me luck getting the 6-year-old to eat more grown-up food, later than she usually eats, and the 49-year-old to eat earlier than he would like to... I'm fed up of 2 or 3 tea times in this house. *Juts chin out defiantly*

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.