CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

This got me thinking, at last

My trip to Gloucester to stock up with tofu was uneventful, but pleasant as I took the quiet route. I returned a different way after realising that the road through Stonehouse was no longer closed to vehicles, along an older winding route, past many quite old roadside buildings dotted along the way.

When I reached the centre of Stonehouse, I saw that the prior road closure was for traffic calming and allowing pedestrians to have more space to shop in comfort, despite the quite busy traffic. Something snapped in my head as I realised this was a possible sample of what we are trying to do on a smaller scale in Stroud, and we coincidentally, we have a meeting of this working group tomorrow morning.

I parked, and when I got out I just looked and felt the effectiveness of the new surfaces that were in place. I took a lot of different shots for the meeting trying to show how traffic flowed well, slower and more calmly. I asked a woman with two young kids what she thought and she too was impressed, although concerned how kids would know where the roadway was.

One of my shots was this one; it is replacing the photo of wild rose-hips hanging high in a very old hedge, which was keeping some young cows in a pear orchard. Oh well.

As I looked at this picture from a technical point of view, illustrating the use of materials to separate functional areas, I began to like it more. A bit of an odd blip for me. I was also pleased at the way I managed to get a reasonable shot still using the 35mm.

ps
The bit of white paper on the right, must have just arrived in shot, as it wasn't there before or after.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.