The high road

By Travellersjoy

Welcome

This is my local pub (The Tin Pub) or Ahakista Bar, as it's now known. I
think I chose the photo to accompany the poem, instead of the other way
around. It had been a grey, miserable day, feeling overwhelmed at work,
the end of year accounts are due and Vat returns.The bank account not
looking too good either and we had some grains infested with weevils-not
good at all. Too many challenges and paperwork is not my thing. So this
poem by Rumi, which I love, kept coming into my mind.

The Guest House

This being human is a guest house.
Every morning a new arrival.

A joy, a depression, a meanness,
some momentary awareness comes
as an unexpected visitor.

Welcome and entertain them all!
Even if they are a crowd of sorrows,
who violently sweep your house
empty of its furniture,
still, treat each guest honorably.
He may be clearing you out
for some new delight.

The dark thought, the shame, the malice.
meet them at the door laughing and invite them in.

Be grateful for whatever comes.
because each has been sent
as a guide from beyond.

-- Jelaluddin Rumi,
translation by Coleman Barks

Tomorrows another day!!!

I quite fancied a pint but Rachel had loads of homework so home we went.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.