The Other Half - Of the Bed

No tousled hair, or balding pate,
No reason to get up late.
No twinkling eyes or sideways grin,
No desire to sleep in.
No words, no kiss, no smile,
No encouragement to stay a while.
No lingering touch, no arms entwine,
No one to say, "You are mine."

No snoring in the early hour,
No beer belly, no spare tyre.
No stubble trouble, no hairy chin,
No one asking "Where the heck you've bin?"
No teeth smiling on the bedside chair,
No dodgy toupee, instead of hair.
No need to sleep my side of the line,
It's my own bed - yes, mine, all mine!

No whispered nothings in my ear,
No one to wipe away a tear.
No creases on the pillow case,
No one to fill the empty space.
No caress, no hug, no hold,
No extra warmth when I am cold.
No late night romps, no morning tea,

No one to share my bed with me.



Apart from the blipping cat, who continuously guards my bedroom door and sneaks onto the bed at every opportunity.


Thank you so much for all your lovely comments on yesterday's entry.
It gave me my first time in the spotlight!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.