La vida de Annie

By Annie

Operation day...

.... and this is the only picture taken today on my phone, not sure if it was before or after the procedure as I have hardly any recollection of the day at all. In years gone by the treatment would have involved drilling into the skull and clipping off the burst blood vessel, but now there's a much neater solution:

Endovascular coiling is a procedure that involves a tiny plastic tube or catheter being inserted into an artery in your leg or groin. The tube is then guided through the network of your blood vessels into your head and finally into the aneurysm.

Tiny platinum coils are then passed through the tube into the aneurysm. These coils block the flow of blood into the aneurysm and so prevent further haemorrhaging.


Maybe I'm just trying to see how much metal I can get inserted into my body this year...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.