New York day 2

Taking advantage of the time zones and for once becoming a morning person, we set off on a boat trip to the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island first thing. We were able to go pretty high up the Statue of Liberty (though not to the Crown).

Was really interesting to see the immigrant story. I'm used to history all being about emigration (to America) so immigration was a different perspective with New York / the Statue of Liberty being symbols of hope.

Great views of Manhattan from the islands and the boat too. New York is tall. So tall. Edinburgh is just nowhere near as tall. And if you see it from afar everything is flat flat flat and then suddenly the city is a big blob of tallness. It sounds silly but I have only ever seen that on cartoons like Family Guy and the Simpsons before and didn't know it was really like that.

The weather was sunny and absolutley baking hot, it was lovely.

In the evening we went for an excellent Mexican meal at a restaurant called Hell's Kitchen then we to see a Broadway show. Broadway was cool, all busy and neon and fabulous. This was proper Bucket List stuff for me. I was so excited. We went to see Catch me if you can and it was so good I really enjoyed it. I've enjoyed the film and book of this semi biographical story before and this was a similar interpretation to the film but the characters were a bit more of a parody. One of the actors (Norbert Leo Butz) won a Tony award for his performance in this and I did think he was particularly good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.