Tourist

By tourist

Passer by

This is all i ever really do here now. Just pass on by, log onto blipfoto maybe once or twice a week without really feeling overly excited by my experience.

I guess after having frequently visited and blipped on the site since October 2006 i'm more or less ready to cut my ties with blipfoto.

I've always had this feeling about blipfoto in some way but somehow tried to hold back from believing it, but it has always seemed like a "your either in or your out" situation in regards to alot of the members here. I guess with the impressive growth of the site and the amount of members who will pass by over time it was inevitable that there was bound to be some sort of group who spoke amongst each other and those who just sat and watched.

The initial reason i joined the site was to provide some honest critique on my work and not to just recieve compliments. I always wanted someone to say that this was a shit photograph while also providing any useful tips. Obviously not everyone here is a pro, but everyone here has a voice and opinion which is important. When i see some of the comments more latterly i see more conversational "hi, i loved that episode of emerdale" last night sort of comments and less of the whole photography type comments. Perhaps i just misunderstood what people came to blipfoto to achieve?

Now, i hope nobody here thinks i am bitter and angry with anyone as i could never do that. I can't stress so much that while there are the odd off comments scattered about there is also a darn site more decent comments not to mention some amazingly fantastic photographs i've seen here in the near 2 years i've been visiting Blipfoto. Alot have people have also been incredibly nice and very helpful to me over the time i've been here. I do a bit of website design so i'm aware of the level of work that's gone into providing this website for everyone, it's not a 2 minute job and the time and effort gone in to improve the site for everyone is somewhat overwhelming too.

I'm not going to say that this is the end, even though i do think alot of people couldn't give a damn, but i will say that at this precise moment unless something else can be introduced to make Blipfoto different from the rest of the other community based sites then i don't feel i would ever feel comfortable here.

I'm an outsider just passing by. It really was nice knowing you all. I sincerely mean that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.