Sue Foll's picture of the day

By POD2008

Angels with dirty faces

After a morning spent phoning contacts I decided to take Laura's advice and take the Thames Clipper down to Greenwich. The last time I did this was on 7/7 when we were turfed off the underground at Embankment and it was the only way I could get to Wapping.

Today the city wasn't ringing with sirens as I sailed down the Thames, it was quite quiet.


The Thames Clipper is a catamaran that moves quite quickly between its river destinations, so hanging on tightly mis still advisable.

At around St Paul's I got a call on my mobile from Ian who was in Warrington of all places asking for advice. I said "get out of there as soon as possible".

Which leads me to todays picture. It is a collection of angels outside St Alfrege's church in Greenwich. The last time I photographed them or indeed saw them, I was with Ian when we lived at the Oval. I was always struck by their weather worn appearance and the fact that the church had not been cleaned since the Industrial era (apparently).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.