Andalusian life

By mrjenks

Manxy

When I was walking back from my friends house, I saw a Manx Shearwater, Puffinus puffinus, outside the Lloyds Pharmacy.
It is so windy tonight that he's blown in from the sea, and its too windy for him to attempt again tonight. Since they are eaten by gulls I decided to look after him until tomorrow, when he can continue his non stop journey to South America. Wish I had a squid for him.

They breed on Bardsey Island (North Wales), where I visit them often. Next year they will return to the same Island again to breed. Some birds live up to 55 years old.
They breed in borrows, either their own or an old rabbits burrow. They feed their chicks, until they are almost twice the weight of an adult, and cannot leave their burrow because they are too fat. They then head for South America and leave the chicks on their own. The fat chicks use all of their reserves to survive and develop into an adult, before following on the epic journey 2 weeks later...
Amazing birds

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.