Souvenirs

"Close Thai friends will expect a souvenir to be brought back for them when you come back from traveling." Suggested my Thai culture book.

Returning from my trip to America gave me the opportunity to test this culture hint. I arrived at 3:30 a.m., so I decided to wait until the following evening, when most people would be in their rooms, to hand out gifts. During the day, friendly smiles and hugs accompanied by, "Welcome Back!" greeted me. One dorm-mate teasingly held out her hands and asked where her present was. (Part of me wanted to say, 'yours just got given to someone else.') But I smiled and said, "Up stairs."

In the evening, I went around handing out little jars of Runts candy. The girls received them with a smile. We don't have Runts in Thailand, so everyone enjoyed tasting the different flavors. Some liked the sour fruit better and some preferred the sweet. Either way, for most people, the candy probably won't last long. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.