Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

College Daze

"Bright college days, oh, carefree days that fly,
To thee we sing with our glasses raised on high.
Let's drink a toast as each of us recalls
Ivy-covered professors in ivy-covered halls."

- Tom Lehrer, Bright College Days


Today I was at the University of NSW at Randwick, for the annual Brain Science Institute symposium, which is always interesting, if not infrequently a little beyond my recollection of physiology and other basic science. Sadly, among the learning points today, were two things I am going to have to do: run, and sleep. Both of those things are clearly associated with increased brain repair and plasticity, and better health (physical and mental). I don't mind running, but I hate sleep, and resent the need for it. I could be doing things, but for hours every day I have to close my eyes and stop everything. Bah.

Interestingly, running ("voluntary running" in rats, but it has been shown in humans as well, with resistance training) has a markedly greater effect on neurogenesis and neurotrophic factors - and cognition - than cognitive "exercising". If you want to increase the health and function of your brain, exercise. My sudoku isn't going to help as much as a good run. ;-)

I might take Mr 4 for a run on Saturday ... and see if I can keep up with him. Srsly. That boy can run - like his papa.

I wandered around at lunchtime taking photos. I thought a raven had trumped the architecture, but mrs tsuken helped me see clear to posting this shot. The raven can be seen here.

As a matter of fact, this is a photo I tried for a year ago, but with my iPhone. it didn't come out well. This was better, I think. I wrestled with the choice between colour or B&W, but in the end decided to blip the B&W - colour version can be found here. Last year at this symposium I took a photo from pretty much the same spot, facing the other way

Lumix DMC-G10 : f/5.60 : 1/400" : 25mm : ISO 100

Large version here.

Uploaded with Blipfoto iPhone app

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.