dailykeith

By dailykeith

Meow

I spotted this cute cat on my way home from shopping in Clifton.

I had gone there to escape the clutches of Tesco and its unpeelable oranges, powdery muesli and general lack of choice.

Sainsbury's is, in my opinion, a level above and Waitrose even higher than that - both firms are represented in Clifton.

Yes, I know, the prices are higher, but I'd rather pay a little bit more for decent quality food than opt for a so-called bargain at Tesco that is, basically, rubbish.

Anyway, rant over. Not much else to report from my day off except that I am about to watch the very last episode of The Wire on DVD.

It has been a magnificent programme, and this final series has been particularly interesting because of its incredibly accurate depiction of a daily newspaper newsroom (for those who don't know, I work on a daily paper).

But I think the writers did run out of steam a little with the plots in this final series. Apologies to those who have never watched it, but to those who have, did anyone else think the McNulty ruse was more than a little far-fetched? And I'm sure the actor playing Bunk might have expected more than an entire series huffing and puffing at McNulty's antics.

Nevertheless, taken as a whole, this has been top notch television.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.