Look, See, Click

By lookseeclick

Heritage skylight

I stumbled upon much, much more than I'd bargained for this lunchtime in terms of blipness. The start of Heritage weekend, when lots of interesting buildings either throw open their doors 'for this weekend only' or do a bit of a push to get people to come and have a look at them, even though they are open for visitors all year round.

So, bearing in mind I've been feeling a bit slack on the creative / interesting blip side of things I sloped off this lunchtime to have a look at the Marble Hall of the Aviva (Norwich Union as was) building on Surrey Street. It's open for people to go in and have a look all year - well, it would be, as it's the public entrance to the building.

It. Is. A. Mazing - I have never seen so much marble all in one place (and I thought that the first floor Marble Hall of Cardiff City Hall was stunning!). Talk about opulence! I took several shots (photography is actively encouraged) but to be honest they all looked a bit - well - 'too much'.

Hence this much plainer leaning-backwards-so-far-I-almost-tipped-over shot of the skylight.

I think I'll go back to Marble Hall again, though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.