The way I see it.

By christinePears

Harvest time

I had a beautiful autumnal evening walk with my daughter-in-law and two grandsons after dinner at their place. We had great fun collecting lots of "conkers" (horse chestnuts) and splitting open the green outer shell to find the little shiny brown treasures inside. I ate some of the ripe blackberries (think I must make bramble pie at the weekend!) and admired all the red hawthorn berries and rose hips in the hedge rows.

The combine harvesters are very busy in all the fields roundabout gathering in the barley crop. I am keeping Clisham inside for another night in case it was these big mechanical monsters that spooked him. I myself was fairly spooked as a huge tractor suddenly rushed past my patio doors in the barley field over the fence! It was nearly dark and all I saw where it's bright lights coming towards me and the roaring noise! Cant imagine what htat would feel like if you were a little animal!

I guess the field mice will soon all be rushing into houses to find shelter for the winter. Think I will check the mouse traps in the attic this weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.