excellent facility

Up until about twenty to six the day had been going reasonably smoothly, though not swimmingly. I'd not become annoyed at too many people or vehicles on the way in, had achieved things in the morning, had only taken enough lunch to buy some food to try and keep my flex up and had achieved some more things in the afternoon even if one thing I was trying to do turned out to have been something which mildly stumped people with much more experience and specific programming knowledge than me. I'd only been struck in the eye by one insect on the way to the shop and managed to spit one out without having to ingest it. I'd only seen two antisocial bastard cyclists, both of whom I was close enough to calmly offer spoken advice to rather than shout at. I'd eventually found where Asda hides its redbush when Nicky called to say that Edgar (already known to have been slightly overheating early in the afternoon) had more temperature and had been advised to pop to the Sick Kids by the doctor. Lots of wailing (unfortunately whilst people were trying to stethoscopise him) and an X-ray later it apparently looked more like bronchiolitis rather than having ingested some fruit or fruit-sick, for which he will be kept in overnight for observation and light oxygen as he wasn't consistently staying where it was deemed acceptable to be on the blood oxygen scale. Nicky's in a wee bed almost underneath the giant metal-barred cot tonight in which he was lying rather listlessly with an oxygen mask whistling next to his face, propped up by his monkey. Fortunately I can visit whenever, so shall pop in in the morning as soon as I'm up and out.

***

I think I'd been asleep for maybe half an hour when my phone scarily rang, though it was with the news that the rapidity of reduction in his blood oxygen whenever the mask fell away from his face indicated a food-blockage more than an infection, and that as all the necessary people were present and there was a lull in business that they could get him endoscoped before dawn. As a taxi had tried to get me just after midnight on my way home I declined to give them any money and biked back to Sciennes again. He's just been generally anaesthetised and we await his return...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.