Like fingerprints

By FrederiqueE12

Montreal's fading heritage

Tonight I went to see the exhibition ?Architecture in Uniform, Designing and Building for the Second World War? ( http://www.cca.qc.ca/en/exhibitions/1112-architecture-in-uniform ) at the amazing Centre Canadien d?Architecture, a gorgeous building integrating the successful preservation of a historical house with new modern wings in harmony. I was going to blip a picture of it for sure, it was my intention.

However, kitty-corner to this exquisite building representing and presenting Architecture of various periods, I found an old Montreal building for rent or for sale. It looked like an old school, or maybe some religious establishment. I could not find information about it on the web. The building is decorated by a ribbon of graffiti, but otherwise seems quite abandoned, dead so to speak. Even the tree to the right in the courtyard is totally dead though standing, probably of sadness at what the city of Montreal is doing to its old buildings, namely abandoning them to promoters. I do hope that the new owners use this one to all its potential. Though I love my city, I am critical of the way it lets its heritage haphazardly in the hands of private developers. (Ok, very tired tonight after day 2 of new job, and suffering from a cold, so sentences? construction might be shaky.)

I will come back later with pictures of the CCA. Love it too much.

On the way back home via Sainte-Catherine street, I got swarmed by bunch after bunch of students doing a pub crawl, various groups dressed in different colours and singing/yelling more loudly than the other. It was crazy and funny and charming. But the night was young yet, I?d hate to see them later. The Navy blue shirted group was definitely my favourite.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.