Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Natures bounty

This rather well worn mitt belongs to one of my neighbors. He owns an eating house just down the road and keeps me supplied in calories on a daily basis, although after seeing the close-up of his digits, I am tempted to reconsider the arrangement. But then again, better the devil you know and he hasn't given me any gastric problems yet, well, only one or two. He was working his vegetable allotment at the time of this photo, so I have to forgive him.

He has face full of character, with his wrinkles and single tooth shading his chin, but unfortunately, the portrait did not work out to my liking. I will return to try again another day, It might even work with some of that graininess that many of you like, perhaps mono with some contrast.

The featured vegetable is a timun which translates to dill. It kind of looks familiar, in fact it looks and tastes like a miniature cucumber. It is served up raw and sliced as an accompaniment to the nations most famous dish, Nasi Goreng or fried rice. There is a lot more to the dish than simply fried rice though. If you ever contemplate a visit to Indonesia, it would suit you best if you started training with heavily chillied foods at least six weeks before, as most dishes will blow your socks off.

Indonesia, having a tropical climate, is certainly bountiful in fruit and vegetables and many a street side shack would put Sainsbury's offerings to shame. I am reasonably adventurous with my palate, I don't really have a choice, but I swear I haven't tried nearly half the fruits and vegetables on offer. I really should make more of an effort. Indonesia's table offerings will certainly be featured in future blips, perhaps accompanied with my documented tastings as I try new flavors on your behalf.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.