Ramblings and Mutterings

By ValleyAllBlack

So it begins

With a night shift last night there was no way I was going to get up this morning to watch the start of the Rugby World Cup, I needed my sleep! But when I did wake I was able to catch the last 10 minutes of the New Zealand v Tonga match, so the All Blacks get off to a winning start, can they do it this time?

I can remember the last time they won it, the first year of the World Cup in 1987; I was still in comprehensive school. I remember watching Glenn Webbe score a hat trick of tries against Tonga in the Green away shirt, a stinker of a rugby match against the old enemy England and then the third place play off against Australia. So many abiding memories of that match John Devereux's multiple hand offs from hell, the last minute try by Adrian Hadley in the corner and the unbelievable touchline conversion by Paul Thorburn. Happy memories!

I didn't have much time to blip anything else today so I took a shot of a lavender plant and my Japanese maple tree. Love the smell of lavender and think the maple is a beautiful tree. I'll try and do better this weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.