La vida de Annie

By Annie

Still here...

... and to prove it here I am wearing George Holt's hat, and not to hide a hole in my head either; they don't have to do all brain ops that way nowadays.

After a bad couple of days a really good one, a short trip with friends to see the period costume exhibition at Sudley house, which is quite close to where I live. I loved the costumes, all high fashion items from 1790-1850, from the era of Jane Austin's novels. Silk, muslin and lace, fabulous fabrics, but how difficult to wear they must have been; tiny waists and huge skirts and sleeves padded out with hoops and swansdown cushions. I would have felt right at home living in that lovely house though. After all it's in my blood - did you know I was born in a castle?

Africa is navy blue today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.