send me back to the wild!

By davidpritchard

The cat's out of the bag

Or rather, the box.

Today, I officially become a guinea pig. My neighbour dropped off a rather large box when I returned from work, containing a test sample of the Tamron 18-270mm F/3.5-6.3 Di VC PZD. Whilst I got to grips with the lens, my kitten made light work of removing the packing chips, giving me the first shots of my project.

My first impressions were very good indeed; this was shot wide open at 18mm with a bit of off-camera flash, and I?m very impressed with just how sharp it is at the point of focus. Initial checks showed that the maximum aperture does drop very quickly on climbing the focal range, reaching f/5.6 by 70mm. However, this is in line with the Nikon 18-70mm, and this baby keeps climbing for another 200mm!

I was surprised at just how compact the lens is, and I?ll be sure to feature this at some point.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.