Pond Life

Spotted these marquees going up down by the pond as I drove back earlier from the barbers and a trawl around town trying to find screw-thread lightbulbs.*

Hadn't a clue what was going on until the kids next door turned up with their faces all painted and told me all about it - some community organised event, encouraging people to come down with their wellies and maybe help out with a bit of cleaning up around the pound. Having been involved in this before Euan and I headed down with the camera to see what was what. Even before we'd got in there I was approached by one of the organisers to say it was okay to take photos as long as I didn't get any of the children in them. As my intention was to try and show that not all the kids around here were intent on the slow destruction of the local pond, that some were happy to help out and right some of the wrongs that their peers may have been responsible for, that kind of defeated the purpose of me taking any photos. The look I got from one of the other people organising the event told me that even thinking about heading inside the fence with my big camera was going to earn some audible tuts and even harder stares. We didn't bother. So, you get a view from the back (there's a crowd of around 25 kids in there doing crafty things and getting their faces painted and waiting for the bouncy castle to be inflated as a DJ blasts out some bangin' choons). It just looks kind of sad from this angle. Which it kind of was.

I'm going to stick to landscapes and photos of my own kids in future, and try to get that 'pedo' tattoo lasered off of my forehead.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.