send me back to the wild!

By davidpritchard

Making an impression

I?ve always loved the work of Monet. The illusion that detail could be created by just a few representative paint daubs. This is something that I like to produce in my photographs, and is one of the reasons that I?ve had a bit of a love affair with fast lenses over the last few years. Normally they?re put together in such a way as to give round apertures at any value, giving smooth background effects which channel the work of the Impressionists.

Today I wanted to see if this was something that I could get from the 18-270. I found that in the range between about 130-190mm, something quite special happened to the backgrounds, and everything just ?popped?. This was my favourite shot of today. Simple and colourful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.