The Day I....

By Paega

The Day I Weighed My Shadow

And the scales say that my shadow is underweight for its height.

I pass these scales all of the time. They are a relic from many years ago when we had a pharmacy at the bottom of the hill. I love the animal pictures but never put a coin in just in case I find out that I am a rhino.

We used to have loads of shops locally. A butchers, fishmonger, baker, green grocer, even a little hardware shop. Times change but not always for the better. The strand of dozen shops where these scales stand now includes five takeaways. The bank shut recently and I can't see the post-office lasting much longer.

On the World Cup Rugby front wow what a feast. Romania, Japan and Argentina threatened to embarrass stronger opposition. Scotland are all doooomed, France were crepe in places and Wilkinson's England didn't look razor sharp.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.