Buckley Hughes World

By buckleyhughes

Sir Henry

So, this is Sir Henry Wood, overlooking the utterly british organised chaos that is the Last Night of the Proms.

I really don't go in for nationalism or jingoism, and have a difficult relationship with flags. But sometimes it's just right. Tonight in the Royal Albert Hall, celebrating the end of yet another summer of traditional and new music, there were flags from countries all over the world, as well as gay pride flags and a Brownies flag in the second row. I think this encapsulates what Britain should be about to me: people from all over the place with totally different backgrounds, lives and outlooks, all singing Auld Lang Syne while holding hands.

I used to have the same issue with the words to songs like Land of Hope and Glory and Jerusalem. Same as I used to have problems with hymns. But now I've realised that they're just words, and they don't have to mean anything deep and meaningful. Same as I can sing pop songs about anything, I can sing along to these songs, just because they're great pieces of music. I just hope nobody reads anything into me singing songs that some people think are nationalistic. I just like the music.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.