MeriRand & the NW Passage

By randra

Moonlit Sail

The weekend was a bit rough so far. If I can say so, Friday night was a bit disappointing again. Today I needed a change of pace, so I hopped up to Moraine State Park and attended the sailing seminar to learn a bit about the things they don't teach us in the Learn to Sail series. They went through a little celestial navigation, heave to, spinnaker sails, creating a "raft" of boats, and man overboard drills- or, really, how to get someone back in a boat. It was informative!

After the session, they were planning a moonlit sail on the lake, so a bunch of us went out for dinner at a local country cafe (ie everything is covered in tasty, tasty gravy), had a few laughs, and then took our boats onto the lake as the clouds cleared up enough to see the moon and identify some key constellations. It was so peaceful- and there were bats buzzing, geese honking, and killdeer shrieking. I miss that all sometimes. I wish I would've planned to camp up there tonight! But, I at least planned the camera, so I got some interesting shutter-release photos from the dock.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.