Mediterranean Wanderer

By monkeyhanger

A guy needs a project.

I have been building up to have a major de-clutter of my life, for a few reasons. I need to bank as much cash as I can to fund our return to our boat Madison and I also want a less complicated life when I eventually set off again.

One thing on my list of things to do is to sell my existing road bike which is a beautiful GT ZR 2.0 and to allow me to do this I took a look through my shed and found that I have the makings of a replacement in the form of an old, but good 531 frame that I bought new in 1984. I am getting worryingly excited about the prospect of restoring this to its former glory.

I plan a rub down, respray, new livery and some long overdue polish on some old but very high quality parts that are tarnished and un-loved at present. I hope to wow anyone remotely interested with the finished article, in a later blip.

I was thinking today that whilst cycling is environmentally friendly, how much better is using the same bike that you have owned for nearly 25 years. My GT should realise a good bit and will go towards some much needed work on Madison's sails and I will still have a really nice bike to get around on.

It is going to be harder to sell my HiFi which I have built up over many years but I am working towards it. For ladies reading this that aren't into bikes and electronics, let me explain that this is the equivalent of selling your favourite shoes or weeding your wardrobe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.