send me back to the wild!

By davidpritchard

For New York.

I wanted to create my own tribute to the Twin Towers for today. I can still remember my reaction to the events of 9/11, as I?m sure many can. I didn?t want to dwell on the horrors of the day, as I think that after ten years, there are those who will feel the need to look forward with hope.

I though back to my visit to the World Trade Centre in 2000, and what it meant to me. I found myself there quite by accident: I was taking the subway to South Street Seaport, and the platforms at that stop were only long enough for two carriages. I had to get out at the WTC, and made the decision to stay for a while. It turned out to be the highlight of my trip, watching a beautiful sunset over the most famous city in the world, and reflecting positively on the end of a very difficult summer. I still look back on that day with fond memories, and only one year on, I knew that it would be an unrepeatable experience.

New York is a place that I always look back on with happy memories, and the sense of pride and identity has never faltered in the days since the collapse of the Towers. I?d like to acknowledge that, and dedicate today?s image to everyone whose lives were affected (directly or indirectly). I sincerely hope that you have found solace in the years that have passed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.