Still Alive

By rinkkasatiainen

Willow grouse. And feeling safe.

... or a hiking guide and a butterfly

After a long week and a very long and exhausting 19h bus drive (the worst ever) I finally arrived home. With only few hours of sleep (and not even decent) I managed to have a 2-hour nap with the little princess.

The story.

My fellow hikers gave me this souvenir on our dinner the previous day. We had named ourselves as 'wandering butterflies' ('Vaeltavat Päiväperhoset' in Finnish).

To the story.

They say that feelings makes us remember things better. And I do remember the feelings I had when hearing the story.
"I see an analogy in the decorative item. Here you see a butterfly [pointing at the smaller willow grouse] walking in the wilderness. And she is safe and calm next to the guide making the week as safe and enjoyable as it was."

Feeling safe. At least they did*. And that's the most important thing.

I felt that my presentation about leadership and how to build a safe environment will have a lot of stories from a real life experiences. And this time I mean real life.

I already miss Lapland!


*We had a lovely and rather interesting discussion about the topic the other night. But more about that sooner than later, or as soon as I back-blip that particular day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.